top of page

MY  BLOG

Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Gajar(Carrot) Ka Halwa My Way

Its a long time that I have been away from my sweet home. The thing which I was missing more, is the winter of my place. I just gone in a flashback of my childhood memories and was remembering the warmth of quilt , watching TV with that and suddenly my mother came with hot tea. I would say only one word i.e AWESOME!!! .If it would be possible for me I would have rewind my life back to my childhood. The one thing which I was missing more was the Gajar Ka Halwa, a winter recipe , since carrot were available in abundance in winter only in north India. So a thought flashed in my mind and I started to prepare this lovely tasty dish.

Ingredients: 1) Carrot -1 Kg 2) Milk - 1 litre 3) Almonds: 50 gm 4) Ghee : 150 gm 5)Cashew: 50gm 6)Resins: 25gm 7) Nestle Milk Maid :  150 gm 8) Sugar :100gm

Process:Step 1: Make Mawa (Khoya) : Initially boil the milk(800 gm) and then sim it .  Rotate the milk in pan at lower flame. After 20-25 minutes the milk will start solidifying. Just take out the viscous solidified milk from your pan and put it so that it cools down. Remember that you have to continuously rotate the milk so that it should get burn from down.


Step 2: Crush the carrots into small pieces: Wash and peel the carrots and chop some pieces of it. It is done so that the pieces can easily come into the grinder. Grind the carrot pieces for a very small time. Make sure that you are grinding only not making its juice.

Step 3: Now make small pieces of almond and cashew. Just make two type of pieces of it. 1) Put both almond and cashew in grinder and make it powder having thick granules. 2) Cut some almond and cashew using knife and put aside.Step 4: Now comes the cooking part. put ghee in the pan (Kadhai) on medium high flame. After one and a half minute when ghee becomes enough warm a smelly aroma of its will start coming . In order to give some different flavor to ghee oil you can also put some cardamom (choti elaichi) powder in that(this is optional). Now put the grinned carrots in the pan. Mix it efficiently with the ghee. Make sure that your pan would be on medium high flame. After 5-6 mins you will see that carrot will start releasing the water . Just stir the carrots at that time else it will get burned .When you see that enough of water has been evaporated and carrots starts becoming dry ,add sugar and milk to it. Stir the paste continuously until it mix well .The carrots will absorb the milk and again you put some milk to the mixture. Now add milk maid, Mawa , powdered cashew and almonds to the mixture and stir it properly. Put the gas in sim and close the pan with some inlet for some time. During this process inspect the mixture from time to time and stir it . This is done to make the carrots fully boiled. Remember that carrots should not remain raw else the Halwa will be a disaster.Step 5: Final touch: Add cashew and almonds(pieces that have been cut using knife) and resins to the Halwa. Sprinkle some Mawa from above and here comes your yummy Halwa.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page